The good, the bad and the ongoing frustrations

November 19, 2008

The good:  My Abby, my sweet socially awkward girl, has been elected to student council by her classmates.  How oh how does that warm my heart?  Thank you God, for giving her the gifts of listening to your leadings.  Dan found Abby’s DS, which may not sound like much, but he went out of his way this morning (and he’s not a morning guy AT ALL) to search and find, all for his sister who sometimes really really gets on his nerves.  But he went out of his way.  For her.  And I was so proud that my heart about burst.  She was ever so grateful.  Plus he’s been the distributer of the gentlest of hugs to his dear sore mom of late.  Rob has been cooking (!) a lot and really now likes eggs.  He’s a funny one, a wise one.  Do you know what he said about visiting me in the hospital?  “Mom, I could tell that you felt awful bad, because you were so so pale, and you kept gritting your teeth.  You were faking it for us, weren’t you?”  Oh kiddo, you have one lucky wife in your future someday.

The bad:  Still no news on Tim’s job.  We’re hanging in, financially and emotionally, but it’s been tough.  He’s down.  I’m down, but trying to me strong, which is kind of a laugh, but I’m trying.  God has always provided.  Always.  But to be honest, I really don’t want to be tested in my faith right now.  I just want good news.  We could use some good news.  But wow, any of us should be so lucky to have Tim care for us when we’re sick.  He’s been…wow.  Gentle and sweet and thoughtful.  He’s a keeper.

The frustrations:  I’ve had a real pain setback this week.  For some reason, my back is hurting as much if not more than when I came home from the hospital.  Bumps in the road are to be expected, but this one has been rough for me.  Pain scares me now because I’m afraid it’s all on the road back to the excruciating and unbearable.  And my stitches came out this week (yay!), but my incision is itchy, itchy, itchy and I’m not supposed to put any lotion on it.

But overall, we hang in and continue to hang in.  The really really good?  God, my family and my kids.  Those make up for a lot of the bad and the frustrating.

2 Responses to “The good, the bad and the ongoing frustrations”

  1. kate whitman said

    Sorry, Beth, I did not know about your surgery and Tim’s job situation. Is there anything I can do for you? Can I drop off a meal for you either this Sat. or Sunday?
    Let me know. I’ll also be praying for you guys.
    Kate

  2. Beth said

    I’m sorry we’ve been so out of touch Kate! I know that you guys have been going though it too, which I’m so sorry about. Soon, soon, we 4 are going out to dinner with drinks and yummy food and fabulous conversation, in which we blow off all crappy circumstances of 2008, okay?

    As for a dinner — that might be great — but I am doing a good bit better. Why don’t you give me a call on my cell 738-1252 and we’ll work stuff out. I was just thinking that I miss you guys a ton! God bless and we’re praying for you too.

Leave a Reply

