Because I’m too tired to make the phone calls I probably should…

October 24, 2007

…an update.

Good news, but worse news too. The good news is that my dad doesn’t have any blockages in his heart, and that his grafts from his 2001 bypass have held very well. My dad had the TEE and the cath done today. Amazing that both tests could be done in the midst of the hospital slo-mo time. Truly a God thing.

Bad news, though: he has two leaky valves. And they need to be replaced or he will basically spiral downward into congestive heart failure and die. So. Option B is surgery. The really major cut into his heart he could die on the table type surgery. But thankfully (because at least things are clear), there seems to be complete accord among the doctors that surgery is his best option. He is a reasonably good candidate for surgery, and other than the valve problems, his heart looks pretty good and his general health is strong.

He is planning on going home tomorrow and doing the surgery some time next week probably. It’s not an emergent situation at this point, but he feels that there’s no percentage in putting it off.

I like his surgeon. He came up to my dad’s room after a long day of performing surgery, so that we could talk to him today instead of waiting until tomorrow. I so appreciate that.

I am the only child of my parents in town. I will be there for them as much as is humanly possible. But I admit to feeling overwhelmed about the level of need they both have. I think that my dad will, if for no other reason than my mother’s health and sanity, need to go to a nursing/re-hab facility for a couple of weeks. A true miracle (and I’m not exaggerating here, my friends) would be if he could accept this with some degree of grace.

Holy shit, I have to give this all over to the Lord because there’s no way, no way that I can manage it on my own.

I’ve felt your prayers propping us all up. Thanks. We’re going to need a lot more of those prayers.

4 Responses to “Because I’m too tired to make the phone calls I probably should…”

  1. Julie said

    I will pray as well. My thoughts are with all of you. If you need me to do anything to make this time easier for you, Tim or the kids dont hesitate to ask. I love you all!!!

  2. Liz said

    Beth…thanks for the update. I will be praying. Please take great care of yourself especially during this time! I was remembering how tiring it was when my stepdad was in ICU for about a week and a half even though we for the most part were just sitting there with him or making sure my mom took breaks and such.

  3. Liz said

    Beth…thanks for the update. I will be praying. Please take great care of yourself especially during this time! I was remembering how tiring it was when my stepdad was in ICU for about a week and a half even though we for the most part were just sitting there with him or making sure my mom took breaks and such.

Leave a Reply

