Miscellany

January 5, 2007

  • Barnes and Noble gift certificates are LOTS of fun. I have over $100 to spend (people in my life know me!).
  • I have REALLY good friends. Just that. You know who you are.
  • I can’t keep Frosted Flakes in the house because I can’t eat only one bowl. Frosted Flakes obsess me.
  • My anger at my kids has been really out of control. Every little thing they do irritates me and makes me want to spew vitriolic words — I keep trying for self-control, but wow…I’m struggling. I think we’re hitting some developmental points (kind of like when you have had an easy baby and you suddenly have a fussy one) that continue to challenge me with how to parent right now. Plus, I think that other stress comes out sideways at those we love the most.
  • I really really want OSU to beat Florida because I am an unabashed football fan. I’ll probably pace through the entire game, even if we get up by 40 points. Not that I think that will happen, mind you — I’m a true Buckeye pessimist, always waiting for my team to snatch defeat from the jaws of victory. The Cooper years were hard ones for me.
  • My daughter has this asthma cough that will not go away. We’re trying more steroids and another antibiotic. Please pray.
  • Cleaning bathrooms is necessary but mighty unpleasant.
  • Cleaning refrigerators is necessary and even scary. If you could have seen my fridge before I cleaned it, you would never eat at my house again. But now it’s so clean, you could perform surgery. I mean, it would be cold, but…
  • I like watching television. And I’m glad Grey’s Anatomy is new tonight. I need nothing more than to veg on my recliner and eat some popcorn (see Frosted Flakes above).
  • The Brownie Troop had the first Cookie (capital C) meeting tonight and I passed out materials and ran the meeting. No one laughed at me or mocked me. I was firm. I set deadlines. I had it goin’ on. Must.Not.Get.Cocky…just because one meeting went well.

Edited to add:  Damn ABC.  Grey’s was in fact not new tonight (what happened to new episodes in January).  It is perhaps a little sad that this frustrated me to such an extent.  Maybe next week…

2 Responses to “Miscellany”

  1. kjames said

    i love frosted flakes. but even more, honey bunches of oats with almonds. oh man they’re like crack. ooo…so is cracklin’ oat bran. LOVE IT.

    you will rock the cookie world, i am sure of it beth!

  2. Beth Koruna said

    Don’t forget — it’s Cookie, not cookie. Oh my friend, I have so much to teach you before Greta becomes a Girl Scout…you must come and learn at the knee of the Great Master that is I: Cookie Mom Extrordinaire! 😀

    Oh dear, I dooo sound a bit cocky. Oh well. I like it that way.

Leave a Reply

