Reasons why God sent me boys…

December 19, 2006

The boys, awaiting their ride and already riding on my last nerve are rolling around the floor laughing with each other. Rob had asked me last week about Chinese restaurant appetizers. Through my haze of coughing and chills I hear them joking about a “poopy platter.” Apparently when you’re six this is uproarious.

“Guys,” I say in my most reproving mother tone, “it’s not called a ‘poopy platter.’ It’s a poo poo platter.”

Which, actually, strikes me as pretty damn funny. I start to laugh but begin a cough like someone’s grandpa that has way too much phlegm. But they saw me crack a smile.

6 Responses to “Reasons why God sent me boys…”

  1. It is a pretty hilarious name for a dish. Then again, a Shi Tzu is a pretty funny name for a dog, too.

    At least “Shi Tzu” is probably a real word in some Asian language.

  2. It is a pretty hilarious name for a dish. Then again, a Shi Tzu is a pretty funny name for a dog, too.

    At least “Shi Tzu” is probably a real word in some Asian language.

  3. Double funny, I guess. Don’t know why it duplicated ike that…

  4. AndyWhitman said

    My niece, who is a teacher, has a kid in her class this year named Shithead. The name is pronounced ShuhTHEED, though, which is too bad.

  5. Beth Koruna said

    Andy — WAY too bad

    John — hope you and Kori are having tons and tons of fun! I do wonder now about the origin of the words “poo poo platter.” It might deserve some research.

  6. Julie said

    This made me laugh hysterically. I could just picture them. I love those boys!!

Leave a Reply

