Waiting

December 14, 2006

Feeling a sick-in-the-pit-of-my-stomach sense as I wait to hear from my mom regarding her myeloma counts. She had an appointment at the James last week where they took blood, and she should get the results today. Barring divine intervention (which we’ll take!), I anticipate that the numbers will be up (which in this case is bad) and that the doctor will probably want to pursue some treatment — I’m virtually certain of the former, not so much of the latter.

Please pray for both my parents — sometimes I think it’s actually harder to be my dad who has to stand by and be a support, all the while coping with his own fear and health issues. Pray that by some miracle the numbers are NOT up. Pray that we all remember that God is enough. Somehow, He really really is.

Thanks.

Edited to add:

Okay, I’m officially at crazy on my dial.  My mom has called the James twice.  The last time she called (around 2:30), the nurse assured her that the messages were on the doctor’s desk.  Then the nurse said, “I have the results right in front of me.  He’ll definitely want to talk to you.”  Okay, what the hell?  If she can’t tell my mom anything of substance, why say anything AT ALL????  Why taunt her?  “Nanny nanny boo boo.  I know the results and you don’t.”  I realize that she may have been trying to be helpful, along the lines of letting my mom know that the results are in and that the doctor will indeed call.  But why not just say that.

I recognize that I never got in line for optimism and probably stood in line at least twice for pessimism, but the doctor “definitely” wanting to talk to her doesn’t sound good to me.

I just wish that medical personnel would remember that each patient is someone’s something:  someone’s wife, mother, sister, friend…and treat them accordingly.

My kids are playing around me and I’m having the hardest time engaging.  I just want to curl up under a blanket and read a mindless romance novel.  Holdin’ on to God (or at least trying)

4 Responses to “Waiting”

  1. I’m sorry, Beth. We’re praying.

  2. bethkoruna said

    Thanks guys. I’ll update when I know more.

  3. kjames said

    i’m praying, beth.

  4. AndyWhitman said

    I’m praying too, Beth.

Leave a Reply

